A Design Blog of Feng Shui Designer Sherry Burton Ways

A few years ago, I worked on a new home for a very special client.  This was one of my first projects as a designer.  Looking back now, it was my first project where it entailed me creating a feel good space which I did not know it at the time.  First, I decluttered her entire home and categorized her belongings as to whether they should stay or go.  I carefully worked with her to determine the significance of various items  in which the client moved in with.   I categorized her belongings and and placed aside those items that would remain verses which ones would go.

Then I worked with the client to determine what colors were considered peaceful to her.  The client stated that she liked earth tone colors.  Earth tone colors are wonderful colors to place in the home because these are the colors we see most often in our natural environment. The colors brown and a neutral color in the taupe family were chosen.  So I decorated the living and dining room of the townhome with a theme of a tropical inspired oasis.  Brown is considered a stabilizing and grounding color it as used as a color to accent her dining room which connected to her living room.  The neutral taupe color was used to complete the space.

In the living room, I worked with the client’s own furnishings and accented existing furniture  pieces with  naturally inspired bamboo pillows and a natural jute rug, an tropical inspired accent lamp, chosen based on the client’s love for travel to tropical locales, candles for her coffee table and decorated with the client’s own personal artwork and memorabilia.  For the window treatment, rather than to purchase off the shelf draperies or have custom window treatments done, I accented the client’s sliding glass door with sheer brown and beige colored fabric draped around it to frame it.  This was done because the client loved the outdoor space in her backyard and wanted that feeling to come into the interior.

Plants and nature is always a calming effect in both work and living spaces. Because of the client’s big sliding glass door which opened into a personal patio oasis of nature including plants and trees.  I took advantage of the natural environment in her backyard, by placing the clients plants around the living area to take advantage of the light coming in from the sliding glass door.  Lastly, to create a calming and peaceful space, I added a floor mounted water fountain.  The sounds of the water fountain and the feel of it created a calming yet peaceful space the client was after.

During the process the client stated:  ”I absolutely love the way the place is coming together. My investment club thinks my home is awesome. They describe it as warm, intimate, and peaceful. Working with you has been one of the best decisions I have ever made.” Homeowner, Washington, DC

After reflecting on this project, I just realized what I gift I had to create something special.  Something that made someone’s life much more peaceful.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

